Light a Fire Within, Not Under…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
With Elder & Hermana Boyd, saying good-bye to Hermana Keil

 Can’t believe already one transfer has passed here in Argentina! Good news and bad news, the good news is I am staying in Palmira; the bad news is Elder Gerard is leaving! Which means I’ll be getting my new companion on Wednesday and I’m almost positive he’s a Latin! Which is really exciting because he only speaks Spanish, but also really nervous because he only speaks Spanish! Also, Hermana Keil is getting transferred, so I won’t be seeing her every week 😦 But I am so grateful for the time I have had with these missionaries. I know that the Lord definitely had a hand in who He put in my path, especially my first transfer here. I have just met so many people who have helped me along this journey and I am so grateful for them. I know that the Lord is guiding me with this new transfer, and this new beginning. It’s exciting!

This week we found a new family, who live in a house made out of random scraps of wood and other objects, they don’t even have a front door, but they enjoy having us over. The daughter who is 14 years old actually is really curious about the gospel and has already been reading the Plan of Salvation pamphlet we gave them! Also, our investigator, Antonio came to church again but he had bruises and a scar on his face. He told us that some young guys didn’t like that he was friends with the”yankees”. I was so sad to hear that had happened to him, but so grateful that he understood how important it was to continue to follow Christ, no matter what may come our way. Just a great example to me of not having any excuses not to follow the Lord.

Also this week, we are in charge of speaking in sacrament meeting about La Navidad, and I’ve been thinking a lot about what I am going to talk about. And I thought about our purpose as missionaries, to invite others to come unto Christ. And how important it is for people to make the decision themselves to go. When the shepherds saw the angel, the angel didn’t drag them to Christ and make them worship him. Instead, the angel praised the birth of our Savior and the shepherds recognized how important this manifestation was, that they themselves went to see for themselves, Christ the Lord. As members and missionaries together our job is to help others realize like the shepherds, the importance of our Savior. To help them learn for themselves the love that He has. In doing so, we must love these people into the gospel. We cannot save anyone we do not love. When they feel that love and joy that we have, we direct them to the source of this love: Our Savior! And ultimately we light a fire in them, not under them that they continue to follow our Savior and redeemer. I am so grateful to be a missionary and to see up close people making the necessary changes in their life that bring them closer to our Lord. I love this gospel and am so grateful for this Christmas season to remember the first and most important gift we have ever received.

Con muchisimo amor,

Elder Justin Lototoa Wilson

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Saying good-bye to Hermana Keil

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

