Savior, May I Learn to Love Another‏

justinbadgepa
How awesome for Ellyn and Elisabeth, I’m excited to see how the mission affected their lives! This week has  been so good! Such an eye opener for me! the ward here is so great lots of young families attending college and stuff but they are all so awesome and super helpful! I was asked to speak on Sunday about general conference and I chose to use President Uchtdorf’s talk from priesthood called “Lord is it I?” I loved it so much because it talks about how when we are too focused on the faults and shortcomings of others we become blind to the many we possess. I love how the apostles of old instead of looking around pointing fingers at others they looked inward and asked “Lord is it I?” I talked about how during the Olympics I would cheer for certain athletes and then they would come in last place and I would be like “you are the worst!” “What the heck!” “You were last place!” Then I would realize I was sitting on the couch eating Cheetos and then think nope, I am last place! Hahaha I love when president Uchtdorf said, “I’m not sure why we are able to diagnose and recommend remedies for other people’s ills so well, while we often have difficulty seeing our own.” I related it to on airplanes during the safety instructions we are told to put on our oxygen masks first THEN to help those around us, just like that we must first change ourselves to come closer to Christ before we can help others do the same. I learned so much from studying this talk about how important it is for me to see myself clearly and work on my own weaknesses instead of judging others for theirs. For a little while I kept noticing things about my companion I didn’t like and I would just think man i would never do this or that. But because i only saw the bad things it closed the door for me to see all the good he does, I know that as each of us ask as the disciples of old “Lord is it I” that we will begin on our own personal path to improvement. I am so grateful for a loving savior and heavenly father who see my divine potential and help me to reach it.
 
This week i had the opportunity to meet one of our investigators named Dennis who is from Togo Africa and is just awesome! He has been taking the lessons for a almost a year now, he’s never been to church so me and Elder Bailey decided to teach him about the Sabbath. He had a lot of concerns about attending church and didn’t see the need to attend if we are supposed to remember Christ everyday, he also was concerned about people who have to work on Sundays, he asked how we can ask these people to sacrifice their job and providing for the needs of their families. I told him the story of  you mom and how you had to go back to work because you knew how important it was to  provide for our family, but you also understood how important it was to provide for our family spiritually. You had faith and always tried your best to get sundays off to make church a priority, consequently it showed us kids how important it is to trust that the Lord will provide a way. We then read 1 NEPHI 3:7 with him and promised that the Lord can and will make it possible for him to attend church. And on Sunday he came!!! I sat next to him and could feel the spirit so strong throughout the meeting, as I sat and listened I heard the words so clearly in my head, “these are precious souls.” The spirit testified that he and his family are children of God and they need to hear this message. I really think he and his daughter Daniella enjoyed church and primary, and the ward did such an amazing job at fellowshipping him! It’s so amazing to be a part of sharing this gospel, and to see others take steps to come closer to Christ!! Thank you so much mom for your testimony and I KNOW that it has not only strengthened mine but strengthened many others!! If i do leave in 2 weeks i really will miss Pittsburgh, I really do love it here and all of the amazing people, but i am ready to go wherever the Lord wants me to go! “Adonde me mandes ire!” If you could let others know that  i might be leaving in the next two weeks or so that way they don’t send anything here when I’m gone.
 
Con Amor,
Elder Justin Lototoa Wilson
Leave a Reply

