“He Lives”

One of my most amazing experiences here, just happened on Tuesday. I received like 5 dearelders and I was feeling like a boss, but I  couldn’t read them because we had devotional so I just kind of forgot about it. But at devotional I saw Sister Willis so I went up to talk to her. And she was actually the one who told me of Uncle Sonny’s passing, and immediately my heart just sank, I was in a room with thousands of missionaries and yet everything was silent, I was ready to just cry right there in front of her. So when we all sat down and started to sing the prelude hymns I just started to lose it, and we sang “We Are All Enlisted” and as I sang the words “joyfully, joyfully” I cried a little more because my heart was not in it, and because I was not joyful. My heart ached so much for my dear  cousins and aunty who I knew would have to have the feeling of waking up and realizing that their Dad wouldn’t be there to make breakfast or say good morning or just laugh with them. And as I sat there I put my head down and just prayed. I opened my heart to the Lord and just pleaded with Him that they would be comforted and that I could feel His love. And the Lord answered. Our last hymn we sang was “I Know that My Redeemer Lives” my favorite song! One of the songs that brought me so much peace after Dad’s passing, and as I sang the words “He lives to silence all my fears, He lives to wipe away my tears” I cried not this time because I was sad, but because I felt peace. Because I know those words are so true.  Because I know with every fiber in me, that Jesus lives. That because of Him we need not cry, because we will see our loved ones again.  And that because of Him I know that one day our entire family will be reunited again, and how great will be our joy! When I got home I found the very first letter I received my very first day, from Uncle Sonny and I just felt so bad that I never responded last week because it truly meant so much to me, I just didn’t have time.  So I said a prayer that I could be comforted and after I prayed, I asked my companion if he had his scriptures and thankfully he did, because I had a feeling the Lord was trying to tell me something.  So I flipped open the scriptures and no joke I opened them up and the very first scripture I see is, Alma 17:10 “and the Lord did visit them with his spirit and said unto them: Be comforted. And they were comforted.”  And I was. I knew that that was the exact scripture I needed to read and I was so grateful that I knew the Lord was aware of my troubles and my pain and that he was right there to comfort me. One of the last things Uncle Sonny wrote to me was, “Don’t worry about your family. The Lord will take care of them.”  I know those exact same words apply to his own family. That the Lord will take care of them, and that I know Uncle Sonny will continue to take care of them on the other side of the veil. I am so grateful for my Savior and for this gospel and for the comfort it truly brings to me. I am so excited to share this glad message of the gospel with others! ” O sweet the joy this sentence gives, I know that my redeemer lives!” I know He lives and loves each and everyone of us. and I am so grateful for this amazing opportunity to serve Him.

32560_1478493965065_4586134_n
Two Incredible Dad’s and their missionary kids. Kapolei, Hawaii 2009
Leave a Reply

